One Minute Play Festival March 5-8 2017

The One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) and The New Ohio present

America Is…



New Ohio Theatre
154 Christopher St
New York, NY 10014

Tickets are $20


Featuring Brand New One-Minute Plays by:

Dacyl Acevedo, Melisa Annis, Heidi Armbruster, Kari Bentley-Quinn,
Jenny Lyn Bader, Maggie Bofill, Emily Bohannon, Suzanne Bachner, Eleanor
Burgess, Eddie Cardona, Tom X Chao, Dominic Colon, Marco Jo Clate, Nat
Cassidy, James Carter, Maurice Decaul, Libby Emmons, Gina Femia, Cara
Francis, Ryan Fogarty, Kevin R Free, Ben Gassman, Katherine Clark Gray,
Chisa Hutchinson, Julienne Hairston, Grant Harris, Lisa Huberman,
Lindsay Joy, Nilan Johnson, C.A. Johnson, Daniel John Kelley, Judith
Leora, Jessica Luck, David Lawson, Jeni Mahoney, Mariah MacCarthy,
Winter Miller, Daaimah Mubashshir, Julian Mesri, Elisabeth Ng, Diana Oh,
Azure D Osborne-Lee, Nicole Pandolfo, Duncan Pflaster, Christina
Quintana, Isaac Rathbone, Robin Rothstein, Kristine M Reyes, Stacey R
Rose, Alex Rubin, Sarah Shaefer, Adam Szymkowicz, Caitlin Saylor
Stephens, Karin Shook, Megan Sass, Susan Stanton, Jona Tarlin, Candido
Triado, Emily Weiss, Natalie Wilson, & Amy Witting

by Pete Boisvert, Dominic Colon, Nathaniel Claridad, Kevin R Free,
Candis Jones, Ari Laura Kreith, Catherine Miller, Kyle Metzger, Leta
Tremblay, & Marc Stuart Weitz

Curated by:

Dominic D’Andrea & Caitlin Wees


The One-­Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) is America’s largest and longest
running grass roots theatre company, founded by Producing Artistic
Director, Dominic D’Andrea. #1MPF is social barometer project, which
investigates the zeitgeist of different communities through dialogue,
consensus building, and a performance of 50-100 short moments generated
by each community. #1MPF works in partnership with theatres and/or
social organizations sharing playwright, educational, or
community-specific missions across the country. The aim is to create
locally sourced playwright-focused community events, with the goal of
promoting the spirit of radical inclusion. #1MPF represents playwrights
of different age, gender, race, cultures, and points of career. The work
attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic
communities by creating a dialogue between the collective conscious and
the individual voice.

In each city, #1MPF works with
partnering organizations to identify programs or initiatives in each
community to support with the proceeds from ticket sales. The goal is to
find ways give directly back to the artists in each community.
Supported programs have ranged from educational programming, youth
poetry projects, theatre program in prisons, playwright residencies and
memberships, playwrights salaried commissions, community access
projects, arts workshops, and other social and artistic initiatives.

Annual partnerships have been created with theaters in over 20 cities
including: New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Trenton,
Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, DC, Baltimore, Boston, Miami,
Minneapolis, New York, Seattle, Dallas, Austin, Indianapolis, Anchorage,
Honolulu, St. Louis, and more, with partnering institutions like
Primary Stages, Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Second Stage Uptown, New
Georges at New York City Center, Z-Space, A.C.T., Trinity Rep, Victory
Gardens Theatre, Cornerstone Theatre Company, The Playwrights
Foundation, Boston Playwrights Theatre, Actor’s Express, InterAct
Theatre, Mixed Blood, Walking Shadow Theatre, Passage Theatre, Phoenix
Theatre, Kitchen Dog Theatre, Salvage Vanguard & ScriptWorks, ACT,
Perseverance Theatre, Round House Theatre, Honolulu Theatre For Youth,
and others.

Notable #1MPF contributors have included: David
Henry Hwang, Lynn Nottage, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies,
Nilaja Sun, Tarell Alvin McCraney, Robert Schenkkan, Lydia Diamond,
Phillip Kan Gotanda, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Sam Hunter, Karen
Hartman, Robert Askins, Colman Domingo, José Rivera, Craig Lucas, Mike
Daisey, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garcés, & over to 1400 celebrated,
emerging, and midcareer playwrights. For more information visit:

Using Format